10 Songs You Need To Hear This Week: Sampha, The xx, Robyn And More

Written By Sam Murphy on 01/13/2017

You'd think the music world would ease us into 2017 but nope. Here's 10 ridiculously good songs to start the year.

10. Allan Rayman
Repeat (Feat. Jessie Reyez)

Jessie Reyez won us over with one song last year Figures but now she's also assisted with Allan Rayman winning us over. The Canadian artist has been chipping away with some strong Soundcloud uploads but his latest Repeat is a real highlight. It's a haunting cut that accentuates the charming oddities in Rayman's voice. He's raw and rhythmic delivering something that's very different but ultimately familiar.

9. Julia Michaels

Julia Michaels penned Justin Bieber's Sorry alongside hundreds of other pop hits but now she's stepping out herself with her debut single Issues. It's the type of pop song that could've only been released by a genius pop writer. It's full of sonic twists and turns and a melody that's not predictable but is so delectable.

8. Alicia Keys
Sweet F'in Love (Prod. By Kaytranada)

If you thought 2016 was Kaytranada‘s year then you may wanna extend your time stamp because it looks like he’s continuing right into 2017. Today, Alicia Keys has dropped a new song out of nowhere Sweet F’in Love produced by your boy Kaytranada. The track has Kaytranada’s vibes stamped all over it with those groovy beats and wobbly synths. Keys slots right in giving us a loved-up, euphoric vocal that never tries to hard.

7. Robyn & Mr. Tophat
Right Time

Following on from their previous 10 minute jam Trust Me, Robyn and Swedish house producer Mr. Tophat have unveiled another lengthy jam Right Time off their new EP. The track unfurls over nine minutes with Robyn’s vocals starting distorted and hypnotic and eventually finding clarity in the song’s latter half. The whole thing has a woozy, off-putting feel to it which is destined to make complete sense in the hazy depths of the club.

6. THEY.

Mind Of A Genius duo THEY. are working up quite a back catalogue of material now and their latest is another precious stone in their collection. U-RITE is one of their hardest hitting yet. It's a trap-driven tune that throws down bar upon bar of fire. It's fast-paced, attitude-heavy and the perfect tune to make you sit up and take notice.

5. Slumberjack
Fracture (Feat. Vera Blue)

Slumberjack spent the weekend delivering huge shows at FOMO with Vera Blue by their side and now they’ve dropped the single they were performing FractureFracture is Slumberjack and Blue’s first offering of the year and also the first time the pair have teamed up but judging by how great this track is, it probably won’t be the last.

4. Cosmo's Midnight

After a week of teasing, Cosmo’s Midnight have finally shared their latest new choon History. The latest cut from the super-twin-duo fits perfectly within their cute/funky synth electro aesthetic – and features a gorgeous female vocal line as well. - Zanda Wilson

3. Syd
All About Me

Syd from The Internet has launched her solo career with All About Me. The new single sees her go further down a hip-hop route than on The Internet’s last record Ego Death but it was produced by Steve Lacy from the band. It’s a really strong solo outing and follows on from solo features on records by Kaytranada and Little Simz.

2. The xx
A Violent Noise

The xx's I See You is out today just in case you weren't aware and while we could've plonked all ten songs in this list, we've settled with picking one A Violent Noise. A Violent Noise is the most annoying song on the record because it teases a drop without delivering but on repeat listens you get the point of the restraint. It's a frustrating yet beautiful flurry of sounds that's complimented by Oliver and Romy's poignant lyrics.

1. Sampha
(No One Know Me) Like The Piano

Prepare for your day to stop in its tracks for just a moment because Sampha has delivered a very emotional new song from his forthcoming debut album ProcessNo One Knows Me (Like The Piano), as the title suggests, is an ode to learning the piano in his mother’s home when he was three. As he said in a feature with The Fader, the track was previously called Mother’s Home and was written when he moved back in with his Mother in her final months fighting a battle with cancer.