the interns' September Recap Mix

Written By Sam Murphy on 10/01/2015

Each month plenty of music comes our way and often it sticks around it our heads for a long time but too often it fades away into the atmosphere. The Mix is our way of cataloguing each month and giving a snapshot of some of the songs that best defined that period of time.

September was plagued with bad news - we still didn't have the Frank Ocean album, Rihanna said her album isn't done and then so did Kanye. Once we got over the disappointment though we had time to reflect on some under the radar releases that actually turned out to be worth more of our time than worrying about albums that may never arrive. Empress Of delivered a stellar debut with MeYoung Thug's Slime Season mixtape finally arrived and Petite Noir gave us an unexpected gem with La Vie Est Belle/Life Is Beautiful.

That's not to say there weren't plenty of huge releases. Of course Drake and Future's What A Time To Be Alive dropped after week's of speculation, Disclosure gave us Caracal and Lana Del Rey continued her hot streak with Honeymoon. In local releases Basenji gifted us the excellent Trackpad EP, Melbourne duo GL snuck in at the last minute with a banger in Number One and Melbz producer Planète dazzled with Altair.

The September Mix includes many of these releases plus a few little ear worms that caught our attention enough to jam them together into a nifty 50 minute mix.

The Mix: September by Theinterns on Mixcloud

1. Wet - You're The Best (Dubbel Dutch Remix)
2. Basenji - Can't Get Enough
3. SG Lewis - Shivers (Honne Remix)
4. Neon Indian - Slumlord
5. Breakbot - Back For More
6. Young Franco - Don't You Want Me (Feat. Blair De Milo)
7. GL - Number One
8. Disclosure - Hourglass (Feat. Lion Babe)
9. Empress Of - How Do You Do It
10. CHVRCHES - Clearest Blue
11. Florence + The Machine - Queen Of Peace (Hot Chip Remix)
12. Planète - Altair
13. Club Cheval - Discipline
14. Gnash - Fuck Me Up (Prod by. AO Beats)