The Mix: August

Written By Sam Murphy on 09/02/2015

Each month plenty of music comes our way and often it sticks around it our heads for a long time but too often it fades away into the atmosphere. The Mix is our way of cataloguing each month and giving a snapshot of some of the songs that best defined that period of time.

The start of August was spent wishing for the Frank Ocean album and by the end of August we had a surprise Miley Cyrus album. It didn't quite go to plan but that doesn't mean it wasn't a good month for music. Carly Rae Jepsen dropped her crisp, banging album of pop perfect EMOTION, Robyn unleashed her Love Is Free EP and The Weeknd completed his mainstream transformation with Beauty Behind The Madness. Meanwhile, Disclosure continued to drop great tunes from their forthcoming record Caracal and Justin Bieber made his comeback with What Do You Mean? If we're handing out an award for the best release of the month it would have to go to FKA Twigs' flawless M3LL155X EP.

The August Mix ticks off all the above while giving a nod to some great Aussie tunes (The Harpoons, Mallrat) and opening with a tune of Dr. Dre's massive return LP Compton. It was a month for rich, melodic dance music with one foot planted in deep house - that's exactly what you can expect to hear on this with a few extra goodies along the way.

The Mix: August by Theinterns on Mixcloud

1. Dr. Dre - Animals (Anderson .Paak)
2. The Weeknd - Losers (Feat. Labrinth)
3. Mallrat - Suicide Blonde
4. The Harpoons - Ready For Your Love
5. Disclosure - Willing & Able (Feat. Kwabs)
6. Carly Rae Jepsen - Warm Blood
7. Miley Cyrus - B B Talk
8. Gavin Turek - Surrender (Prod. By TOKiMONSTA)
9. Julio Bashmore - Let Me Be Your Weakness (Feat. Bixby)
10. With You - Ghost (Feat. Vince Staples)
11. Shift K3Y - Crying In My Sleep (Feat. Andrea Martin)
12. Robyn & La Bagatelle Magique - Lose Control
13. DJ Dodger Stadium - You Don't Have To Be Alone
14. FKA twigs - In Time
15. Justin Bieber - What Do You Mean?