Hudson Mohawke Serves Up 'Very First Breath'

Written By Sam Murphy on 03/25/2015
Image: Facebook

Image: Facebook

Hudson Mohawke is gearing up to release one hell of an album this year by the sounds of it with feature artists including Miguel and Jhene Aiko. The album is called Lanterns and is due out in June. Today we have the first single from the album Very First Breath featuring French vocalist Irfane. Mohawke's Chimes EP from last year was an assault on the ears but this one takes a slightly more subtle approach. When we say slightly we mean it in every sense of the word. Very First Breath is still a banger characterised by earth-shattering bass and dense synths below Irfane's perfect, after-dark vocal. It's nice to hear him deliver up a tune with a vocal melody meshed with his industrial aesthetic. His show at the Fader Fort at SXSW was a sight to behold, making the thought of this album even more exciting.

[soundcloud width="750" height="200"][/soundcloud]

Hudson Mohawke - Lanterns tracklist:

1. Lantern
2. Very First Breath (feat. Irfane)
3. Ryderz
4. Warriors (feat. Ruckazoid & Devauex)
5. Kettles
6. Scud Books
7. Indian Steps (feat. Antony)
8. Lil Djembe
9. Deepspace (feat. Miguel)
10. Shadows
11. Resistance (feat. Jhené Aiko)
12. Portrait of Luci
13. System
14. Brand New World