Kanye West Reworks Lorde's 'Yellow Flicker Beat' for The Hunger Games: Mockingjay

Written By Bianca on 11/11/2014

The Lorde-curated The Hunger Games - Mockingjay: Part One soundtrack has gained another worthy opponent, with Kanye West being the latest to volunteer as tribute, alongside CHVRCHES, The Chemical Brothers, Tinashe and Bat For Lashes. Rather than providing something from scratch, the egocentric producer/singer/songwriter/North baby Daddy has instead reworked Lorde's Yellow Flicker Beat. Slightly deviating from the original, the latest version provides a slower, more opulent, ominous atmosphere, with West's imprint only truly making an impact about one third of the way through.

The Hunger Games: Mockingjay, Pt. 1 Soundtrack Tracklist: 

01 Stromae: Meltdown [ft. Lorde, Pusha T, Q-Tip, Haim]
02 Chvrches: Dead Air
03 Tove Lo: Scream My Name
04 Charli XCX: Kingdom [ft. Simon Le Bon]
05 Ariana Grande: TBA [ft. Diplo and Lorde]
06 Raury: Lost Souls
07 Lorde: Yellow Flicker Beat
08 Tinashé: The Leap
09 Bat for Lashes: Plan the Escape
10 Grace Jones: Original Beast
11 Lorde: Flicker (Kanye West Rework)
12 XOV: Animal
13 The Chemical Brothers: This Is Not a Game [ft. Miguel]
14 Lorde: Ladder Song